My coworker says my picture makes me look like Alfred Hitchcock

23 Jun

Recently I’ve been thinking about this site, my social networking profiles, and any other information I have that is available to the public. When I graduated from college I started being much more thoughtful about the kind of things I allowed everyone with an Internet connection to see. I started to realize that if I google every person I know, they’re going to do the same to me. Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t have things that I want to hide, but I definitely want to be cautious.

Some recent experiences have made me rethink this topic. I am not sure that younger people realize that an online presence is a part of what you present as to other people. It’s no longer just about how you dress, what you look like, and how friendly you are upon first impression. It’s also about what you have online. Your Internet presence is part of how you present yourself to the world. It’s not possible to say “Oh, that’s just Myspace, it doesn’t matter.” Because it does. I don’t really think that means you can’t have a Myspace or a blog. Maybe we should just think twice about gushing about our love for someone else or posting pictures of yourself becoming an Ultimate Aggie. I realize most people reading this are well aware of this, but I have witnessed some pretty crazy things recently and it made me wonder what they’re teaching kids in school these days. Whatever happened to logic?

2 Responses to “My coworker says my picture makes me look like Alfred Hitchcock”

  1. Nicolette June 25, 2008 at 1:02 am #

    Definatley an interesting thought. I’d like to think that I am somewhat careful in this area. Sometimes the thought of my blog being public, in addition to other sites I use occasionally makes me kind of weary. But at the same time, I like them to be public so people that know me can find me and I don’t mind sharing my thoughts and pictures with people as long as their not a bunch of crazies. But it’s impossible to minitor that if everything is open to the public.

  2. Sarah West June 30, 2008 at 9:59 pm #

    Arrgghh! I hate thinking about this subject. It makes me nervous to think that people who I don’t like could potentially be blog stalking me!!! See now I think I am so supercool that they would bother reading my crap blog.

    By the way, John, I have tagged you on my blog to write about either your top 5 influential reads or your top 5 influential authors (whichever takes your fancy!). You know the rules, blah blah…

    have fun!!!

Leave a Reply

