How It Happened

9 Oct

I know the Internet is teeming with those who are intensely interested in my life. To satisfy your lust for knowledge I’m going to discuss how Alec and I met.

When I was living in Salt Lake I had a roommate, and good friend, that did a pretty good job in getting me to go to young single adult activities in our ward. I don’t hate activities or anything, but I’m not the kind of girl that is always going to every activity. I’d say I’m only semi anti-social. One Monday night in March she got me to go with her to a St. Patrick’s Day family home evening. I spent about ten minutes playing a silly game around a round table nibbling on green foods before I decided I was ready to go home. Before I managed to drag her away from the fun she introduced me to a pair of brothers she had met in the ward before. I was torn between staying to chat and getting out as quickly as possible, before the game of sardines began. Well, you guessed it, the brothers were Alec and his brother Colin. We talked for a few minutes and that was that.

At least a month went by before I ran into him again. My roommate invited Alec over for dinner and some movies. A Family Guy marathon soon followed, and the rest is history.

I came to find out that one family home evening was the only one he’d been to and it was one of about four I had been to. I’m going to go ahead and attribute that to fate.

Stay tuned for more enthralling details!

3 Responses to “How It Happened”

  1. Becky October 11, 2008 at 8:23 am #

    Good ol’ FHE!. What a great story to tell. 🙂

  2. sarah October 14, 2008 at 4:46 pm #

    Hello Chicken!

    I love your little story – it is very cute and I am very excited that you have such a neat story to tell your kids BUT I want to know about how he proposed – that would be an altogether better story, on account that in that story you get a diamond!

    I need to update you on my little saga – not that it is all that exciting anymore but I did go on the most amazing date in the whole world! we need to have a long lunch one day – and i really REALLY need to meet Alec – i feel that he is missing out on my suberb sense of humour and quite frankly that needs to be rectified!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I am missing your face!!!!!

  3. Kylee October 21, 2008 at 2:59 am #

    Cassie!! I”m so excited I found your blog! It’s been too long since I’ve seen you. I actually saw your engage. pics on Julie’s photo site & I was like “Oh, I wish I could get ahold of her!” I have no idea what you’ve been up to for the last few years, but I want to congratulate you on your upcoming wedding! HOW EXCITING! I”m so happy for you two, and about the whole cliche comment about being perfect for eachother – that happens when you’re in love. You unfortunately turn very cheesey/cliche-ish!! SEE! That was cheesey 🙂 Keep in touch – ya hear?!?!

Leave a Reply

