Don’t ignore that nagging voice

11 Sep

I’ve had an external hard drive as my backup for the past two years. Except life has been rather chaotic the last two years. I have moved 5 times, graduated from college, and got married. So instead of the backup I meant it to be, it became my main storage device because at least two of my computers have died. I guess it doesn’t help that I have bought extremely outdated computers due to a lack of money. But for the past six months I’ve had this feeling that I really need to get another hard drive or find some other solution to back up my information. You know, gigs of music, pictures, resumes, documents, etc. Basically, our electronic lives. Every time the thought came up I shoved it back down, telling myself that I will buy another drive when some money turns up. Then last Thursday I turned on the drive and it screamed. SCREAMED! It screamed at me and rebuked and made me feel guilty for not paying attention to it sooner. After a few minutes of screaming, it gave up the ghost. My brother came over and tried to get the drive to spin. I even had a technical fixer-upper-guy advertising his services on craigslist try to work his magic on the drive. But no luck. Absolutely none. Apparently a data recovery service will cost me an unknown amount somewhere between $600 and $1900!

Now a $100 hard drive or an online backup service doesn’t seem so expensive.

Take it from me, it’s worth backing up your data and listening to the voice in your head. I wish I had.

3 Responses to “Don’t ignore that nagging voice”

  1. Wendy September 11, 2009 at 11:49 pm #

    I totally didn’t demote you! You just never post and then it disappears until you do. It ain’t my fault you got weird bloggy stuff. And btw, I don’t see my name under “I Like”…
    I’m really sorry about your backup though, that sucks. Really, that sucks. Luckily Mario is ultra paranoid about that kind of stuff and we have about a billion backups. Good luck though.

  2. Malorie September 14, 2009 at 8:16 pm #

    I totally know the feeling. I actually have been having that same nagging voice about the exact same thing. I guess I better get on it before all my pictures are no more. That would truly be the worst day in my life to date.

  3. rob aubrey October 15, 2009 at 12:18 am #

    I know your pain. I have had that happen with an external drive too.
    I have since converted over to online back up. I now have all my files on two desktops synced to match and backed up online.

    To get your files they have to take it to a clean room and open it up and get everything.

Leave a Reply

